Back to all posts
Guide
9 min read

Best Bolt.new Alternatives in 2026

DevToolLab Team

DevToolLab Team

October 8, 2026

Best Bolt.new Alternatives in 2026

Prompt-to-app builders all quote a monthly price, but each one meters usage in a different unit: tokens, credits per message, or dollars of model spend. That makes the sticker prices almost useless for comparison, and it is why people who hit a limit on one tool go looking for another.

Bolt's own pricing page explains the problem in its FAQ: "most token usage is related to syncing your project's file system to the AI: the larger the project, the more tokens used per message." As of October 8, 2026, Bolt's Free plan allows 300K tokens a day and 1M a month, and Pro at $25 a month starts at 10M tokens a month. A message in week one of a project and a message in week six cost different amounts. Every alternative below solves that differently, so this post compares the meters and the seat rules, not just the price tags.

How We Compared Them

We read each vendor's pricing page and docs on October 8, 2026, as raw page text rather than summaries. Where a price depends on a billing toggle or a dropdown, we say which one. We did not build the same app in every tool, so nothing here ranks output quality. What we can verify from public pages is the meter, the seat model, the hosting and database story, and whether you can take the code with you.

The worked example is a 4-person team building an internal dashboard. That size is where seat rules start to matter.

Bolt.new, the Baseline

Bolt is StackBlitz's prompt-to-app builder. Its pricing page lists website hosting and unlimited databases on every plan, adds a choice of database provider on paid plans, and the home page lets you start from a prompt, Figma or a GitHub repo.

Bolt.new homepage headed "What will you build today?" with a prompt box and Website, Slides, App and Prototype buttons over a blue gradient
Bolt.new homepage headed "What will you build today?" with a prompt box and Website, Slides, App and Prototype buttons over a blue gradient

The limit is the token meter described above. Teams is $30 per member per month, and the page says tokens are not shared among members, so an idle teammate's allowance cannot cover a busy one. Paid tokens roll over for one extra month.

Pricing: Free $0 (300K tokens/day, 1M/month) · Pro $25/mo (10M tokens and up) · Teams $30/mo per member · Enterprise custom

Lovable

Lovable bills in credits that cover building, hosting its Cloud backend and AI features inside your app, drawn from one balance. Its FAQ is explicit that it does not charge per seat: workspaces support unlimited members on all plans, and everyone shares the credit pool.

Lovable pricing page showing Free $0, Pro $25 and Business $50 plans with a 100 monthly credits selector, unlimited users, and an Enterprise column
Lovable pricing page showing Free $0, Pro $25 and Business $50 plans with a 100 monthly credits selector, unlimited users, and an Enterprise column

That is a different failure mode from Bolt. A message costs what the task costs: the page lists "Make the button gray" at 0.50 credits and a landing page with three generated images at 1.70. Plan Mode is 1 credit per message. The $25 Pro price is the entry tier of a credits dropdown, and paid plans add a daily grant of 5 build credits. The shared pool is also the catch for a team, because one person can drain it unless an admin sets per-member limits, which Pro supports.

Pricing: Free $0 (5 build credits/day, up to 30/month) · Pro $25/mo for 100 credits · Business $50/mo for 100 credits · Enterprise custom

v0

v0 is Vercel's builder, and it is the only entry here that publishes its model token rates: v0 Mini is $0.20 per million input tokens and $1.20 per million output, v0 Pro $2 and $10, v0 Max $5 and $25. Credits are dollars of that usage.

v0 homepage headed "What do you want to create?" with a prompt box set to v0 Max and a row of starter templates below
v0 homepage headed "What do you want to create?" with a prompt box set to v0 Max and a row of starter templates below

The free plan includes $5 in one-time credits, deploys to Vercel, syncs with GitHub and caps you at 7 messages a day. Plus is $30 per user per month with $30 of included credits and $2 of free daily credits on login; the pricing page shows $90 struck through beside that $30, so confirm what your invoice says. Billing is centralized on vercel.com, which is convenient if you already deploy there.

Pricing: Free $0 (7 messages/day) · Plus $30/mo per user · Business $100/mo per user · Enterprise custom

Replit

Replit is the broadest of the group: its navigation lists Agents, Databases, Integrations and Security next to apps, websites, slides and dashboards, so the editor, hosting and database live in one account. Its home page opens on a prompt box with Website, Mobile, Design, Slides and Animation starting points, and the figures below come from its pricing page text.

Replit homepage headed "What will you build?" with a prompt box reading "Create an explainer video for...", Website, Mobile, Design, Slides and Animation buttons, and three example prompts below
Replit homepage headed "What will you build?" with a prompt box reading "Create an explainer video for...", Website, Mobile, Design, Slides and Animation buttons, and three example prompts below

Core is $20 a month, or $18 a month billed annually, and includes $20 towards higher-end models, plan mode and unlimited workspaces. Pro is $100 a month, or $90 billed annually, with 10 parallel agents, up to 15 collaborators and $100 towards the top-tier models. Usage past the included amount is Replit's effort-based pay-as-you-go pricing. The Core card does not state a seat rule, so a team should read Replit's billing docs before budgeting.

Pricing: Core $20/mo ($18 annual) · Pro $100/mo ($90 annual) · Enterprise custom

Base44

Base44 pitches itself as a no-code platform that builds the frontend, backend, database and authentication together. Its pricing page footer shows Wix.com Ltd. as the owner.

Base44 homepage headline "Every builder needs a base" over a prompt box with Apps, Websites, Games and Tools options
Base44 homepage headline "Every builder needs a base" over a prompt box with Apps, Websites, Games and Tools options

Plans meter two things: message credits for AI messages and a separate pool of integration credits. Starter is $16 a month billed annually for 100 message credits and 2,000 integration credits; Builder is $40 for 250; Pro is $80 for 500; Elite is $160 for 1,200. Free gives 25 message credits and up to 5 apps. The FAQ says two-way GitHub sync exports the full source to your own repo, though the Starter card does not list GitHub integration (Builder and up do), and the displayed prices assume yearly billing with a 20 percent discount, so monthly billing costs more.

Pricing: Free $0 (25 message credits) · Starter $16 · Builder $40 · Pro $80 · Elite $160, all per month billed annually

Dyad

Dyad is a desktop app for macOS and Windows that runs on your machine and talks to whichever model API you give it. The GitHub repo reports 21,767 stars and v1.18.0, published October 5, 2026.

Dyad homepage headline "The open-source AI app builder on your desktop" with a Download for macOS button and a screenshot of its prompt screen
Dyad homepage headline "The open-source AI app builder on your desktop" with a Download for macOS button and a screenshot of its prompt screen

The license is split: everything outside src/pro is Apache 2.0, and src/pro is under the Functional Source License 1.1 with an Apache 2.0 future license, so call it open source with a fair-source corner rather than purely Apache. Free needs no sign-up and no seat fee, but you pay your model provider directly. Dyad Pro is $20 a month for 200 AI credits and Dyad Max is $79 for 900.

Pricing: Free $0 plus your own API costs · Pro $20/mo · Max $79/mo

bolt.diy

bolt.diy is StackBlitz Labs' fork of Bolt's original open-source repo, MIT licensed, with 19,936 stars as of October 8, 2026 and a push the day before. It supports 21+ model providers, including local ones through Ollama and LM Studio, and runs in Docker or from source on Node 22.12 or newer.

bolt.diy GitHub repository page showing the MIT license, 19.9k stars and the description "Prompt, run, edit, and deploy full-stack web applications using any LLM you want!"
bolt.diy GitHub repository page showing the MIT license, 19.9k stars and the description "Prompt, run, edit, and deploy full-stack web applications using any LLM you want!"

Two cautions. The newest tagged release is v1.0.0 from May 12, 2025, so you are tracking main, not releases. And the README notes that it uses StackBlitz's WebContainers API, which carries separate commercial terms for enterprise deployment, so MIT on the repo is not the whole license story.

Pricing: $0, plus your own model API costs

Side by Side

ToolMeterEntry paid priceSeatsLicense
BoltTokens$25/mo$30 per member (Teams)Proprietary
LovableCredits per message$25/moUnlimited usersProprietary
v0Dollar credits at token rates$30/mo per userPer userProprietary
ReplitDollar credits, effort-based overage$20/moNot stated on CoreProprietary
Base44Message and integration credits$16/mo annualNot stated on cardProprietary
DyadYour API bill (Pro adds credits)$0NoneApache 2.0 + FSL
bolt.diyYour API bill$0NoneMIT

What a 4-Person Team Pays

The seat column is where sticker prices stop meaning anything. This script prices the dashboard team using only the rules the pages above state, plus Lovable's own example prompt costs:

js
const team = Number(process.argv[2] ?? 4)

const plans = [
  { name: "Bolt Teams",       perSeat: 30, flat: 0,  note: "$30 per member, tokens not shared" },
  { name: "v0 Plus",          perSeat: 30, flat: 0,  note: "$30 per user, $30 credits each" },
  { name: "Lovable Pro",      perSeat: 0,  flat: 25, note: "flat, unlimited users, 100 shared credits" },
  { name: "Lovable Business", perSeat: 0,  flat: 50, note: "flat, unlimited users, 100 shared credits" },
  { name: "Dyad (Free)",      perSeat: 0,  flat: 0,  note: "$0 license, you pay your own model API bill" },
]

console.log(`\n${team}-person team, monthly sticker price\n`)
for (const p of plans) {
  const total = p.flat + p.perSeat * team
  console.log(`  ${p.name.padEnd(17)} $${String(total).padEnd(5)} ${p.note}`)
}

const examples = [["Make the button gray", 0.5], ["Remove the footer", 0.9], ["Add authentication", 1.2], ["Landing page with images", 1.7]]
console.log(`\nLovable Pro, 100 credits split across ${team} people\n`)
for (const [what, cost] of examples) {
  const total = Math.floor(100 / cost)
  console.log(`  ${what.padEnd(26)} ${String(cost).padEnd(4)} credits -> ${String(total).padEnd(4)} prompts, ${Math.floor(total / team)} per person`)
}

Running it with node cost.mjs 4 prints this:

text
4-person team, monthly sticker price

  Bolt Teams        $120   $30 per member, tokens not shared
  v0 Plus           $120   $30 per user, $30 credits each
  Lovable Pro       $25    flat, unlimited users, 100 shared credits
  Lovable Business  $50    flat, unlimited users, 100 shared credits
  Dyad (Free)       $0     $0 license, you pay your own model API bill

Lovable Pro, 100 credits split across 4 people

  Make the button gray       0.5  credits -> 200  prompts, 50 per person
  Remove the footer          0.9  credits -> 111  prompts, 27 per person
  Add authentication         1.2  credits -> 83   prompts, 20 per person
  Landing page with images   1.7  credits -> 58   prompts, 14 per person

Lovable is $95 cheaper than Bolt or v0 at four seats on the entry tier, but 100 credits shared four ways is 14 to 50 prompts each, depending on the task, before the daily grants. The cheap plan is cheap because it is small, and the price of more credits is the dropdown, not the seat count. Per-seat plans cost more up front and give each person a separate allowance. Neither is better in general; you are choosing between a pooled meter and four private ones.

How to Choose Without Migrating Twice

  1. Count your meter, not your price. Note how many messages your team sent last week to your current tool, then convert using each vendor's own unit: Bolt tokens, Lovable credits at 0.5 to 1.7 each, v0 dollars at the published token rates.
  2. Check the seat rule against your team size. Run node cost.mjs <your team size>. The flat-versus-per-seat gap grows with every person you add.
  3. Decide where the app will live. v0 deploys to Vercel, Bolt and Lovable bundle hosting, Replit bundles hosting and databases, and Dyad and bolt.diy leave hosting to you.
  4. Test the exit. Sync a throwaway project to GitHub on each finalist and open it in your editor. Base44 and v0 document GitHub sync, and Lovable's FAQ says you own your code.
  5. Estimate the model bill if you self-host. Dyad and bolt.diy are free, but count your own API tokens. The AI Token Counter gives a quick estimate of what a typical prompt plus project context costs.

Which One Should You Actually Use?

Already deploying on Vercel: v0, because billing, deploys and GitHub sync land in an account you have.

A team that shares one budget: Lovable, if you can live with one pooled balance and set per-member limits.

You want editor, database and hosting in one place: Replit, after you confirm its seat rules in its billing docs.

Non-developers building internal tools: Base44, which bundles the backend, auth and database by design.

Source code must stay on your machine: Dyad or bolt.diy, depending on whether you want a desktop app or a Bolt-style browser workspace.

Conclusion

Bolt's token meter charges more per message as the project grows, and every alternative replaces that with a different meter rather than removing it. Before you switch, find out what a message costs you in week six, not week one, and which of your teammates drains a shared pool. We did not benchmark generated code quality, so test one real feature on your top two before paying.

  • HTML Live Editor - paste a generated page and tweak it in the browser before committing to a credit-metered fix.
  • AI Token Counter - estimate how many tokens a prompt and its project context use before you pay for a message.
  • Dotenv Linter - catch duplicate and malformed keys in the .env file an app builder generates.
  • Meta Tags Checker - verify that a generated site ships a title, description and Open Graph tags.

Related Posts

Best Text-to-Speech APIs in 2026, Compared

ElevenLabs, Qwen, Cartesia, Inworld, Speechify, MiniMax, Fish Audio, Google and Azure TTS APIs ranked by blind tests and priced on one 5M-character workload.

By DevToolLab Team•

n8n vs Zapier vs Make: AI Automation 2026

n8n, Zapier and Make priced on one AI ticket-triage workflow: tasks vs credits vs executions, plus Activepieces, Windmill, Node-RED and OpenClaw.

By DevToolLab Team•

Best SQL Clients in 2026: 8 Tools Compared

DBeaver, DataGrip, Beekeeper Studio, TablePlus, DbGate, DbVisualizer, Chat2DB and VS Code's MSSQL extension, priced for a five-developer team.

By DevToolLab Team•